Weekly Shout out

This week, I wanted to share something that I think is really pretty cool. I’m sure you know about it by now, but just in case you don’t, let me tell you about Swagbucks. This really neat website gives you points for doing things like… searching for something online or playing a game. It gives you points for taking a daily poll or, heck, sometimes just for having the right code!

Now, you’re going to ask: why do I care about points?

Well, a few couponing sources have mentioned this little benefit: you use the points to buy stuff. You guessed it, peeps! You get points for not spending any money (and if you do spend money, you can get points that way, too!) and you apply those points towards getting really cool things… like gift cards to Barnes & Noble or Amazon! You can give them away as gifts at Christmas and SAVE MONEY ON PRESENTS (because you didn’t actually BUY the gift card, you earned it!)! Or, you can horde them and reward yourself for being awesome! Either way, it’s totally a win-win!

Next,  you’re going to ask: Tiff, how do I get these points you keep yacking on about?

Well, Nelson, the answer is simple! You use their search engine and if the machine chooses your search, it gives you points (just put in the code to make sure you’re not a bot in disguise!). If you play games on their site, it gives you points. If you answer a daily poll, there’s another point. If you print their coupons and use them while shopping, there’s more (10 points per redeemed coupon!). If you take part in any surveys, there’s some more. If you don’t mind taking them up on some of their special offers, there’s more!

Then, there’s the fun part. They hide codes every day. Sometimes it’s on Facebook. Others, it’s on Twitter. Sometimes it’s in their blog and sometimes, it’s right there on their homepage! All you have to do is find the code (or pay attention to people like Jason at FreebieShark who’s pretty good at posting when there’s a code out there… though he won’t tell you what that code IS…) and put it into the little SwagCode box at the top right corner of their homepage when you login.

There’s even a toolbar you can download on your computer and an app on your phone so you can earn even MORE points by searching!

I am not a dedicated searcher (though I call myself an idiot for not being one…), and I already have almost 600 points! That’s just since about April! With a little more work, there’s no reason why you can’t save yourself a boat load of money every year, just earning points for cool stuff at Swagbucks!

Oh, and I linked my referral page here at all the links because you can earn points that way, too. You earn the same points as anyone you refer does and it doesn’t cost them a single point! So, sign up today using my referral link, then refer some more of your friends! Even if they only get 500 points a year, that’s 500 extra in your account! whoo-hooo!!! Just make sure you tell ’em I sent ya… ok? (*points to the links*)

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Margaret
    Sep 14, 2012 @ 09:19:58

    Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your website on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the knowledge you provide here and can’t wait to take a
    look when I get home. I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .
    . Anyhow, superb site!

    Reply

Got something to add? Go for it! Leave a comment here!